Research Thrusts

  • High efficiency c-Si solar cells
  • Advanced research on thin film silicon solar cells
  • Integrated Bio-Solar-Wind-VRFB storage based smart microgrid system
  • Photovoltaic Systems
  • Storage systems (Redox flow and Li+-ion battery)
  • Sensor Systems
  • Self-Cleaning of PV module
  • Artificial photosynthesis
  • PV module reliability


  • Microgrid Centre inaugurated by Ex President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee
  • DST-IIEST Solar PV Hub: One of its kind in India
  • MNRE-COE for thin silicon solar cell and PV systems
  • WBREDA-COE for Renewable Energy studies
  • SRRA and AMS :Established by NIWE
  • Advanced Characterization solar cell lab inaugurated by Secretary, DST
  • Signed MOU/MOA with 11 Academia and 10 Industries
  • Conducting M.Tech course on “Renewable Energy Science and Technology” with annual Intake-25 students (10 students with MNRE Fellowships and 15 with GATE scholarship)
  • Conducting PhD specially with 05 MNRE Fellowship